

Higher Education - Non-professional UG Programmes – National Educational Policy 2020 - Introduction of four (4) year Honours Programme with an exit option after three (3) years in all University Colleges and its affiliated colleges from the academic year 2020-21 - Permission accorded – Orders issued

HIGHER EDUCATION (CE) DEPARTMENT

G.O.MS.NO. 46

DATED: 22-12-2020. Read :-

Ref:APSCHE Lr.No.APSCHE/AC/CBCS-2019-20/Review, Dated :22.09.2020.

-000-

ORDER: -

The Government of India has announced the National Educational Policy, 2020 with an objective to ensure equity and inclusion in and through education by addressing all forms of exclusion and marginalization, disparity, vulnerability and inequality in education access, participation, retention and completion and in learning outcomes. Part II Chapter 11 clause 9 of the National Education Policy, 2020 recommends that "The structure and lengths of degree programmes shall be adjusted accordingly. The undergraduate degree will be of either 3 or 4-year duration, with multiple exit options within this period, with appropriate certifications, e.g., a certificate after completing 1 year in a discipline or field including vocational and professional areas, or a diploma after 2 years of study, or a Bachelor's degree after a 3-year programme. The 4-year multidisciplinary Bachelor's programme, however, shall be preferred option since it allows the opportunity to experience the full range of holistic and multidisciplinary education in addition to a focus on the chosen major and minors as per the choices of the student. An Academic Bank of Credit (ABC) shall be established which would digitally store the academic credits earned from various recognized Higher Education Institutions so that the degrees from an Higher Education Institutions can be awarded taking into account credits earned. The 4-year programme may also lead to a degree 'with Research' if the student completes a rigorous research project in their major area(s) of study as specified by the Higher Education Institutions".

2. The Review Meeting on Higher Education with all functionaries of Higher Education and Technical Education held on 6.8.2020, which was headed by the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, has unanimously decided to introduce four (4) year Honours Programme with an exit option after three (3) years from the academic year 2020-21 and also decided that the students who opt to exit after three (3)

years will be awarded a UG Degree i.e BA/B.Sc/B.Com etc and students who complete four (4) years Degree Programme will be awarded an Honours Degree.

3. Among the many changes sought to be brought in by the National Education Policy, 2020, the duration of Undergraduate Programmes can be three (3) or four (4) years, with multiple entry and exit options.

4. The A.P State Council of Higher Education, in association with the academic experts of the Universities and Collegiate Education, has revised the syllabus of non-professional UG Programmes to be in effect from 2020-21 under Choice Based Credit System for its implementation in all the University Colleges and its affiliated colleges with the approval of the respective statutory bodies of the Universities.

5. After careful examination of the matter, the Government hereby decided to accord permission to the State funded Universities in the State of Andhra Pradesh for introduction of four (4) year Honours Programmes with ten (10) months of mandatory internship, with an exit option at the end of the 3rd year. Students who opt to exit after three (3) years will be awarded a U.G. Degree i.e BA/B.Sc/B.Com etc. and students who complete four (4) years Degree Programme with a rigorous research project in the major area(s) of study will be awarded an Honours Degree.

6. In view of the introduction of the four (4) year Honours Programmes, all three (3) year Honours Programmes are withdrawn from 2020-21.

7. The Universities in the State of Andhra Pradesh are requested to adopt the orders issued by the Government with the approval of their respective Statutory Boards for its implementation of the aforesaid orders in all the University Colleges and its affiliated colleges under their jurisdiction from the academic year 2020-21.

8. The Secretary, A.P State Council of Higher Education, Mangalagiri, Guntur District, the Special Commissioner of Collegiate Education and the Registrars of the State Universities shall take further action in the matter accordingly.

9. This order issues with the concurrence of the Finance Department vide their U.O.FMUOMISC/106/2020, (Compute No.1281610) dated: 16.12.2020.

(BY ORDER AND IN THE NAME OF THE GOVERNOR OF ANDHRA PRADESH)

SATISH CHANDRA SPECIAL CHIEF SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

То

The Secretary, A.P.State Council of Higher Education, Mangalagiri, Guntur District.

The Special Commissioner of Collegiate Education, Govt.of A.P., Vijayawada.

Contd.,P.3

// 3 //

The Registrars of the State Universities in Andhra Pradesh. Copy to:

The Chairman, AP State Council of Higher Education, Mangalagiri, Guntur District.

The Vice-Chancellors of the State Universities in Andhra Pradesh.

The P.S. to Hon'ble Chief Minister, Andhra Pradesh.

The P.S. to Hon'ble Minister for Education, Andhra Pradesh.

The PS to Spl. C.S to Govt., Higher Education Department.

The PS to Prl. Secty to Govt., Finance Department.

Law (B) Department.

S.F./S.C.

// FORWARDED::BY ORDER//

SECTION OFFICER